Sheer Publishing News

SAMA 18 – Big celebration for Sheer Publishing Composers

Mar 17, 2012

When the nominees where announced for the 18th Annual South African Music Awards on the 8th of March 2012, it felt like the Sheer Publishing all-star day. Sheer Publishing would like to congratulate their composers for over 30 combined nominations!!!

Leading the pack are newly signed publishers TS Records working in collaboration with long time clients and composers Robbie & Mjakes with eight nominations on the Zahara album. Another new signing but surely not new to the music scene long time composer Kabomo Vilakazi with his nominations on his own album plus the production he did on the Unathi album.

With three nominations, the dynamic co-composer team of Tshepo Sekele and Petrus Victor Mngomezulu working Lira has proven to be a winning combination yet again. Not only has the production work of Crighton Goodwill on the Lloyd album garnered three nominations, he has been honoured with a nomination for Best Producer for his astounding work on the album. Crighton also played a role on the Best Kwaito nominated album with client Kabelo for his album.

Long time client Senzo Mkhobe has put new kid on the block Zakwe on the map with his production work, garnering Zakwe five nominations. The Best Rock category will surely be the most contested category of SAMA 18. Sheer Publishing represents 3 of 5 artists nominated in that category, congratulations to Taxi Violence, Van Coke Kartel and The Graeme Watkins Project. Also a huge congratulation goes out to Chris Chameleon and Die Heuwels Fantasties. Another new signing composer Somizi Mhlongo has been nominated for his first SAMA for his incredible album.

Other composers who worked on nominated albums were Fredick Tshabalala for Ganyani Entertainment presents The Family, Sipho Mphahlaza for his amazing work on the Micasa album which garnered five nominations, Ashtray Electric, Martin PK, Brandon October, Thabiso Tsotetsi on the HHP album, Bug Nuz, Adam Glasser for his Best Jazz nomination for Mzansi, Gift Magubane on the L-Tido album and all the composers who featured on the Spikir collaboration album such as Brown Dash, Kabelo, General GTZ, Thabs Le Madonga, Mandoza, Robbie, Mjakes, Flabba, Mr. Selwyn, and Junior Mabhokodo.

Sheer Publishing would like to congratulate all the composers for the hard work they put into the nominated albums, wish them the best for SAMA 18.

Southern African Music Rights Organisation

27 (0)11 438 7000

Head Quarters:
5th Floor, 165 West Street
2 Sandown Valley Crescent
Sandton 2196, South Africa

Postal Address:
P.O. Box 3128
Parklands 2121
South Africa

Follow Sheer Publishing:

Sheer is a subsidiary of

Downtown Music Services