Sheer Publishing News

WAWELA 2016 – Nominees announced

Aug 24, 2016

The Southern African Music Rights Organisation NPO (SAMRO) recently unveiled the list of nominees for the 2016 Wawela Music Awards (WMA), including winners for the Special Awards: Lifetime Achievement Award, Prolific Catalogue of Works and Breaking Through The Borders.

Sheer Publishing would like to congratulate clients Oliver Mtukudzi Winner of the ‘Breaking Through The Borders Award’, Gabie Le Roux, Winner of the ‘Prolific Catalogue of Works’ category, Adam Howard, nominated in both ‘Best song or composition in a television commercial’ and ‘Best song or composition in a radio commercial’ categories, Alun Richards, nominated in the categories ‘Best song or composition in a television commercial’ and ‘Best Soundtrack In A Feature Film Or Theatric Documentary’ and Wouter Kellerman, no stranger to prestigious Awards, nominated for ‘Best Creative Album of the year’.

Over the years, the Wawelas have taken pride by being the only awards in the country that put a spotlight and recognise music composers, lyricists, song writers and music publishers.

Now in their 4th year, the awards are known for their in-depth appreciation of music composition and songwriting, including music created for television and film to songs for commercials. With the amount of entries received for this year’s awards, there is no doubt that the 2016 ceremony will surpass the standard set by last year’s edition.

SAMRO Marketing General Manager, Tiyani Maluleke said that they are happy with the quality of entries that were received for 2016 awards. “We are excited to announce this year’s nominees. The list of those selected paints a great picture of how far the awards have come. This year marks our fourth year and with that, we are humbled by the amount of entries and quality of content submitted.”

This year’s awards sees industry darlings such as acapella group The Soil, afro-soul singer Maleh, house duo Black Motion, Jazz singer/songwriter Lindiwe Maxolo and R&B artist Naima Kay also nominated for an opportunity to be crowned the winners.

It is important to also note that the 2016 nominees were selected through an extensive, audited process adjudicated by individuals drawn from different sectors of the South African music industry.

Like previous years, this year’s Special Awards recipients are a good testament that the awards are growing from leaps and bounds. Recipients for the 2016 Special Awards are music legend, Abigail Kubeka who takes the Lifetime Achievement Award, while veteran producer, Gabie Le Roux is honoured with the Prolific Catalogue of Works Award and international renowned musician Oliver Mtukudzi is awarded the Breaking through the Borders award.

Wawela Music Awards winners are set to be announced during a glitz ceremony to take place on Friday, 07 October 2016.

Below is the full list of nominees and Special Awards winners.

Best Soundtrack In A Feature Film Or Theatric Documentary
Alun Richards
Nik Sakellarides
Benjamin Willem

Best song or composition in a television production
Orangotang Music
Joe Niemand
Benjamin Willem

Best song or composition in a television commercial
The Soil
Alun Richards
Adam Howard

Best song or composition in a radio commercial
Nik Sakellarides
Louis Enslin
Adam Howard

Best Creative Album of the year
Wouter Kellerman
Jack Parrow

Songwriter of the Year
Benjamin William Jephta
Lindiwe Maxolo

Best South African Duo or Group
The Soil
Black Motion

Best Male Artist and Composer/Co Composer
Benjamin William Jephta
Fabian Sing

Best Female Artist and Composer
Lindiwe Maxolo
Naima Kay

Lifetime Achievement Award
Abigail Kubeka

Prolific Catalogue of Works
Gabie Le Roux

Breaking Through The Borders
Oliver Mtukudzi

Southern African Music Rights Organisation

27 (0)11 438 7000

Head Quarters:
5th Floor, 165 West Street
2 Sandown Valley Crescent
Sandton 2196, South Africa

Postal Address:
P.O. Box 3128
Parklands 2121
South Africa

Follow Sheer Publishing:

Sheer is a subsidiary of

Downtown Music Services